Donate Now

Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia

Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia has, for over 60 years, been dedicated to the treatment and prevention of obstetric fistula. Hamlin is the reference organisation and leader in the fight to eradicate obstetric fistula.

The organisation comprises six fistula hospitals including the world famous Addis Ababa Fistula Hospital, the Hamlin Rehabilitation and Reintegration Center (Desta Mender), the Hamlin College of Midwives and 80 Hamlin supported midwifery clinics in rural Ethiopia. Patients at all Hamlin facilities are treated free of charge and students at the Hamlin College of Midwives study free of charge.

Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia’s governance and team is 100% Ethiopian with over 550 professionals working across the organisation to deliver the Hamlin Model of Care for women with fistula.

Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia Board & CEO

Dr Ephrem Teckle Lemango, Chair, Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia

Dr Ephrem has a medical degree from Addis Ababa University and a strong background in Public Health Policy and Management. He was previously the Executive Director at the International Institute for Primary Health Care – Ethiopia. Prior to that he was Director, Maternal and Child Health at Ethiopia’s Federal Ministry of Health. Ephrem was appointed to the Board in 2015.

Dr Yigeremu Abebe Asemere, Deputy Chair & Director, Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia

Dr Yigeremu is a physician with postgraduate qualifications in internal medicine from the Addis Ababa University. He is Country Director in Ethiopia for the Clinton Health Access Initiative (CHAI) combating HIV/AIDS and other preventable and treatable diseases in Ethiopia.

Dr Mengistu Asnake, Director, Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia

Dr Mengistu is a physician and public health specialist with more than 28 years of experience in reproductive health, primary health care, child survival, community health services, program management and clinical service delivery. Mengistu currently serves as the country director in Ethiopia of for maternal health NGO, Pathfinder International.

Ms Wuleta Betemariam, Director, Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia

Ms Wuleta Betemariam holds a Masters Degree in Public Health and Public Policy from the University of Michigan. Wulu is currently the Project Director of the Last Ten Kilometers Project funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.  Previously she established EngenderHealth in Ethiopia and the Sudan.

Ato Tesfaye Mamo, Chief Executive Officer

Ato Tesfaye brings over 20 years of experience in government and non-government organisations to his role. Tesfaye leads Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia’s operational and programmatic deliveries with the Senior Management Team.

Dr Yeshineh Demrew Yigezu, Medical Director

Dr Yeshineh oversees clinical operations at Hamlin’s Addis Ababa Fistula Hospital and five regional fistula hospitals across Ethiopia. He is also a FIGO (The International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics) certified trainer in Fistula Surgery. He began his career as a general practitioner in 1987 after graduating from the Gondar College of Medical Science. In 1997 he qualified as a specialist in Obstetrics and Gynaecology at Addis Ababa University and in 2019 he completed a senior fellowship in Urogynecology at Mekele University. Over the last 23 years he has become one of Ethiopia’s most respected Obstetrician-Gynaecologists. He spent 17 years working in hospitals in the Oromia region of Ethiopia including three years at Hamlin’s Regional Fistula Hospital in Mettu. In 2015 he joined Hamlin’s Addis Ababa Fistula Hospital as an expert Obstetician-Gynaecologist and Fistula Surgeon.

Ms Tigist Aman, Rehabilitation and Reintegration Manager, Desta Mender

Tigist has aBA in Educational Planning and Management; MA in Educational Leadership and Management. Tigi has been with Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia since 2009 as adult & non-formal education facilitator & learning coordinator.

Ato Zelalem Belete, Dean of Hamlin College of Midwives & Prevention Manager

Ato Zelalem has a Bachelor of Nursing and a Masters in International Community Medicine. He joined Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia in 2012 and is responsible for Hamlin Fistula Ethiopia’s prevention program including the Hamlin College of Midwives and 80 Hamlin supported midwifery clinics. Ato Zelalem also leads Hamlin’s Patient Identification Program.


Sign up to our newsletter

Oxygen Works with any Contact Form Plugins...
All rights reserved 2020 Catherine Hamlin Foundation (R) (ABN58159647499)
Catherine Hamlin Fistula Foundation is fiscally sponsored by KBFUS (EIN582277856) and KBF Canada (RCO769784893RR0001)

Photography credits to Cameron Bloom, Nigel Brennan, Mary F. Calvert, Kate Geraghty, Amber Hooper, Joni Kabana, Johannes Remling and Martha Tadesse.

Patient names and images have been changed to protect the identities of those we help.